Holiday Hooplah

My extended Christmas season has just come to a close and it was spectacular!  I had loads of fun with some wonderful people.  I also got to share with several people about the true meaning of Christmas and how, through Christ, we can have peace and joy every day!

The festivities got kicked off by watching the movie Elf at Izgrev, and then we had a decorating party at our apartment!

Irena decorating the tree

Irena decorating the tree

Maja with the nativity set

Maja with the nativity set

Our pretty tree!

Our pretty tree!

Maja & Adriana - sweeties with sweets!

Maja & Adriana – sweeties with sweets!

Belinda with the goodies(we laughed at how the garland looks like it's coming out of her ears, haha)

Belinda with the goodies
(we laughed at how the garland looks like it’s coming out of her ears, haha)

They even got Mel in the Christmas spirit!  :)

They even got Mel in the Christmas spirit! 🙂

On the 18th we had a team party to celebrate Christmas and say “farewell for now” to a few of our teammates headed back to America.  We had tons of delicious food and played some games.  Joe & Jeff were nominated for the ribbon spool game and they did a great job!

Then, on Christmas Eve, I had some ladies over to my apartment for a dinner.  I got to share with them some American traditions and we ate and visited.  It was my first time to host a big dinner by myself, but we had a great time!

SAM_2939

Ana, Martina, & Marge

Ana, Martina, & Marge

Elena and me

Elena and me

Jasmina, me, and Olga

Jasmina, me, and Olga

Ana has some fun

Ana has some fun

Bojan joins in the festivities

Bojan joins in the festivities

Being silly

Being silly

Love these girls!

Love these girls!

Lovely ladies!

Lovely ladies!

The place settings

The place settings

On the 30th, we had a holiday concert at Izgrev.  Several people came to hear our youth play and sing.  It went really well!

 

Elena and Josh

Elena and Josh

The crowd enjoying the music.

The crowd enjoying the music.

They did a great job!

They did a great job!

Marija

Marija

Singing "Silent Night" in Macedonian and English

Singing “Silent Night” in Macedonian and English

I went with my friend Kate to a restaurant here in town to ring in the New Year.  There was great food, great people, and lots of dancing!  I even learned a few new dances!  After sleeping for a while, I went to my landlady’s home for a wonderful lunch with her, her brother, her mother, and her niece before heading back upstairs to finish cleaning and packing for my trip.

I returned from Prague on Badnik (Orthodox Christmas Eve), and the next two days were spent going “na gosti” – visiting people in their homes.  We went from house to house visiting our friends.  It was fabulous!  I love that I get a full month of celebrating and merriment here!

 

Leave a Reply

