Globe Trotting Part 1 – Roman Holiday

As you are probably well aware, I am a terrible blogger.
But in my defense, in the past month we have had back-to-back-to-back volunteer teams here and I’ve been in five different countries spanning 2 continents.

Our last volunteer team of the summer leaves tomorrow morning so hopefully I will get a chance to update on everything that happened with them soon, but for now I’ll fill you in on my travels.  This will be a 3-part series.  Welcome to part 1 – my Roman Holiday!

My travels began with me missing my train from Skopje, Macedonia to Belgrade, Serbia.  The result?  A nine-hour bus ride.  But, fortunately, I had plenty of Драмина (motion sickness medicine) with me, so I slept a lot on that trip and arrived safely in a new country – one more checked off the list!  🙂

Shortly after I got off the bus it began POURING down rain.  I had not been able to get in touch with my friend there to let her know I was coming by bus instead of train so after an hour or two of calling multiple people we finally got connected, I got to eat KFC (woot woot!) and then we went back to her place to crash for the night so I could catch my flight the next morning.

I arrived in Rome just after noon the next day and ended up waiting in line for an hour or two because the airline had demolished my suitcase.  Got all of that paperwork and then met a really nice girl on the train from the airport to the main part of town.  She got out her iPhone and showed me where to go to get to my hostel… except she showed me the wrong way.  I finally arrived at the well-concealed (but wonderful!) Rome Accommodation Hostel where I was greeted by Luigi, Giovani, and the awesome smiling faces of Julie and Elisa!

The rest of this story (where we went, who we saw, what we did, etc.) will be told mostly through pictures and captions.  Enjoy!

We visited the Pantheon

 

 

 

 

 

 

Where we ran into these guys…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and learned that trying to be sexy is not allowed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Inside we saw some graves (lots of dead people in Rome) and some other pretty cool stuff…

… like this guy trying to decide what’s for dinner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then we met up with Caleb…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… for a delicious dinner and “Heart of Rome” walking tour…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… that included some cool fountains…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… with “burly gods”…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… a pillar, and “a very important looking building” (thank you, Rick Steves)…

 

 

 

 

 

 

We also saw the (gorgeous!) Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps… apparently it’s pronounced “Spag-na”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then we headed back to the hostel to conclude day 1.
But day 2 had plenty of adventures as well!

We started the day off at the Colosseum… which is truly incredible.

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are some great views to be seen from inside…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and even great places to relax (we found a spot too)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

But what really struck me as I stood there with my friends…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… was how many of my brothers and sisters in Christ took their last breaths right there because they were unwilling to denounce their faith.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I pray I would have the boldness to joyfully do likewise should I be called upon to do so… His grace is enough.

After the Colosseum we saw some more ruins…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and cool ancient statues…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… then headed back to the hostel (room 4) to rest and gear up for Day 3!

 

 

 

 

 

 

We began at the Mouth of Truth – sure glad I’m not a liar!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We also visited the adjoining church and it’s catacombs…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… which I thought were pretty neat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then we took in some sights…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…as we made our way…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… through town…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… down amazing Italian streets…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… past the bird-brained statue…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… to the market square…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… with the awesome mini-trucks…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and the cool statue.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then it was off to more catacombs on the Appian Way…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… these catacombs (and the church) are named for St. Sebastian…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… but Peter and Paul’s remains were supposedly housed there at one point in time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We continued along the Appian Way…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and saw many beautiful things…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and then…

 

 

 

 

 

 

… my camera died.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So you will have to wait to see what happened next!!!
Tune in for Globe Trotting Part 2 – Coming to a blog near you soon!

 

 

2 responses to “Globe Trotting Part 1 – Roman Holiday

  1. Pingback: Globe Trotting Part 2 – New Continent |

  2. Pingback: Globe Trotting Part 3 – The Conclusion |

Leave a Reply

