Addicted

It’s February now, and the snow is still falling here in Prilep.  But that’s not what this post is about.

Јас сум зависна на Американски фудбал.  In other words, I’m addicted to American football.  And, according to one of my friends here, I am spreading the addiction like a virus.

Last Wednesday I had a great time going over the basics of the game with some of my friends here and getting them hyped up and ready for the big game.

Then the Super Bowl started just after midnight this morning so we watched it at a little all-night sports bar type place (I really have no idea what to call it in English).  Though the outcome was heart-breaking for this Pats fanatic, I still had a great time!  And the Patriots now have a wider international fan base.  🙂

A couple of my friends changed their profile pics to Patriots pictures, several of my friends tagged me in pro-Patriots pregame status updates,  and one posted  after the game, “So, my hate-list is pretty short, but Giants – you are on it!”  I seriously have some of the greatest friends in the world!  Not to mention my family’s support of this all – my mom even messaged Wes Welker to tell him I would be watching the game in Macedonia!

And, though I love my sports and love my teams, and have no intentions of changing that any time soon, it got me thinking.  I was taken back to a Falls Creek service I attended in high school.  We were all sitting there when suddenly the OU emblem appeared on the screen.  Half the crowd erupted in cheers while the other half sat silently or booed their adversary.  Then the screen went black.  Then the OSU emblem appeared – same thing.  Then the screen went dark once more.  This time it was not a sports logo that popped up, but the name of JESUS.  The whole crowd sat quietly… waiting to hear where this was going.

The speaker took the stage with a look of sadness on his face.  “Why is it…” he asked, “that we get so excited and bold about our favorite teams, but when it comes to Christ, we sit in silence?”  Those might not have been his exact words, but that was the gist of it.  It broke my heart, and I am reminded of that moment again today.

As much as I love the Patriots, I want the world to know that I love my Lord and Savior infinitely more!  And I pray that, just as people around me have “caught the vision” of American football, many more around me will be touched by the grace and redemption of the Holy Spirit.  In eternity it won’t matter how many games my favorite football team won or lost, all that will matter is what each of us did with Christ in the time He gave us on this earth.

This is a picture of Denver Broncos’ quarterback, Tim Tebow.  The verse referenced on his eye black is Romans 1:16, which says, For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.”

                                                    (Image provided by Google)

I am praying for him.  I pray that he will continue to use his talents and abilities to bring God glory.  I pray that he will continue to stand firm in his faith in the midst of persecution.  I pray that he will continue to remember that Christ is worth more than any Super Bowl trophy or championship ring.  I pray that people would turn from their sin and trust Christ as their Lord and Savior because of his faithful witness.  And I pray that I too would be faithful to put Christ first in EVERYTHING.

Leave a Reply

