Unexpected Prayer

Today I sat in chapel listening to a gentleman speak about international ministry.  As you can imagine, my heart was stirred.  I am planning to go overseas soon so his words hit close to home.

As he finished speaking our president took the pulpit to offer some final words.  With tears he acknowledged that he knew full well that some of us in the room might give our lives in service to the King of Kings.  I discovered my heart praying, “Lord, let it be me!”  My mind followed quickly with, “What did I just say?!?!?!”

I have long desired to die in a way that would bring God glory, but this was somehow different… somehow more real… somehow more immediate.  I by no means have a death wish.  I thoroughly love life!  And I am not saying that this means I will die soon, but honestly, I am ok with it if I do.

So many people speak of what a tragedy it is when a person dies young, and I am not trying to lessen the pain of a grieving family, especially if they have a spouse and/or children.  I genuinely believe, though, that the only way my death could be a tragedy is if I do not live in a way that brings Him glory.  I want my death to be a time of revival and celebration – of people finding the Lord and His name being magnified!

So though I may not have anticipated praying that prayer today, I am very grateful that I did.  I am still in awe that the Lord would choose to use me and allow me to have even a small part in the redeeming work He is doing in the world.  Death is trivial when life is eternal.

“Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of His saints.” ~ Psalm 116:15 (ESV)

Ancient Casket

Life Goes On

One response to “Unexpected Prayer

  1. Hey! I need your email address. I thought I had it, but I don’t. Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

